skip to content

Photo: David Heyer

Dr. Júlia Miklasová

Dr. Júlia Miklasová is a Postdoctoral Researcher at the Academy for European Human Rights Protection at the University of Cologne. She obtained her PhD degree (summa cum laude avec félicitation de jury) from the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva (IHEID). Her doctoral thesis examined secession in contemporary international law with a special reference to the post-Soviet space. Apart from questions pertaining to the attainment of statehood, her thesis also inquired into the position of non-state secessionist entities in international law.

Júlia was a Junior Visiting Fellow at the Institute for Human Sciences (IWM) in Vienna, Research Assistant at the Global Migration Centre at the Graduate Institute in Geneva and a Legal Assistant to the Member of the United Nations International Law Commission (ILC) in Geneva. Júlia also previously worked as a junior associate in a law firm and as a project assistant in a regional think-tank. She also represented the Slovak Presidency of the European Union during expert meetings relating to the Espoo Convention in Brussels and Geneva.

Júlia completed a two-year Master Programme in International Law at the Graduate Institute in Geneva as well as BA and MA degrees in law at the Comenius University in Bratislava, Slovakia. She spent exchange semesters at the Boston University Law School (USA) and the Université Paris Descartes (France).

Areas of Research

  • Pubic international law with a special focus on law of statehood, territorial disputes, law of international responsibility (including states, IOs and other non-state entities), human rights
  • International legal issues pertaining to post-Soviet space

Publications

Memberships

  • American Society of International Law (since 2020)
  • European Society of International Law (since 2016)
  • International Law Association (since 2017)
  • Slovak Society of International Law (since 2013)
  • Swiss Society of International Law (since 2020)

Other professional position

Contact

Dr. Júlia Miklasová
Assistant Researcher (Postdoc)


Telephone +49 221 470-5589
E-mail julia.miklasova(at)uni-koeln.de


Website

zum Inhalt springen

Foto: David Heyer

Dr. Júlia Miklasová

Dr. Júlia Miklasová ist Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Akademie für Europäischen Menschenrechtsschutz an der Universität zu Köln. Sie erwarb ihren Doktortitel (summa cum laude avec félicitation de jury) am Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Genf (IHEID). In ihrer Doktorarbeit untersuchte sie das Thema Sezession im zeitgenössischen Völkerrecht mit besonderem Bezug auf den postsowjetischen Raum. Neben Fragen zur Erlangung von Staatlichkeit untersuchte sie auch die Stellung nichtstaatlicher sezessionistischer Gebilde im Völkerrecht.

Júlia war Junior Visiting Fellow am Institut für die Wissenschaften vom Menschen (IWM) in Wien, Forschungsassistentin am Global Migration Centre am Graduate Institute in Genf und Rechtsassistentin des Mitglieds der UNO-Völkerrechtskommission (ILC) in Genf. Zuvor war Júlia auch als Junior Associate in einer Anwaltskanzlei und als Projektassistentin in einem regionalen Think-Tank tätig. Außerdem vertrat sie den slowakischen Ratsvorsitz der Europäischen Union bei Expertentreffen zum Espoo-Übereinkommen in Brüssel und Genf. 

Júlia absolvierte ein zweijähriges Masterprogramm in internationalem Recht am Graduierteninstitut in Genf sowie einen BoA- und MoA-Abschluss in Rechtswissenschaften an der Comenius-Universität in Bratislava, Slowakei. Sie verbrachte Auslandssemester an der Boston University Law School (USA) und der Université Paris Descartes (Frankreich). 

Forschungsgebiete

  • Völkerrecht mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf das Recht der Staatlichkeit, territoriale Streitigkeiten, dem Recht der internationalen Verantwortlichkeit und Menschenrechte
  • Internationale Rechtsfragen in Bezug auf den postsowjetischen Raum

Publikationen

Mitgliedschaften

  • American Society of International Law (seit 2020)
  • European Society of International Law (seit 2016)
  • International Law Association (seit 2017)
  • Slovak Society of International Law (seit 2013)
  • Swiss Society of International Law (seit 2020)

Bisherige Beschäftigungen

Kontaktdaten

Dr. Júlia Miklasová
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin


Telefon +49 221 470-5589
E-Mail julia.miklasova(at)uni-koeln.de


Webseite